

District 22 Council

September 22, 2022

Minutes September 22, 2022

Opening:

The regular semi-annual meeting of the District 22 Council convened online at 8:00 pm on September 22, 2022, by District Director Shed Mayberry. Administration Manager Terry Burns was Secretary.

Approval of Agenda:

Without objection the Agenda was approved as distributed. See Attachment "A".

Introduction of Meeting Officials:

Meeting officials are as follows:

Member	Role	Member	Role
Stephanie Edwards, LD3	Timer 1	Terry Burns, DTM	Timer 2
TerryAnn Porter, DL1	Technology Assistant	Daniel Jarmin, EH5	Election Assistant
Dan Arbuckle, DTM	Credential Committee Chair	District Leadership Chair	Joanne Monroe, DTM
Denver Doty, VC4	Audit Committee Chair	Jim Christine, DTM	Parliamentarian
Mike Edwards, DL2	Minutes Committee Chair	Terry Burns, DTM	Administration Manager
Darren Yarbrough, DTM	Finance Manager		

Reports:

- > Election Assistant Daniel Jarmin presented the voting procedures.
- Credentials Chair delivered the Credentials Committee Report. A quorum is present. See Attachment "B".
- Parliamentarian Jim Chrstine:

20220922-01 Parliamentarian Jim Christine moved to adopt four Special Rules of Order for the remainder of this meeting:

- 1. Debate Limits:
 - a. Speaking in debate on any topic is limited to two (2) minutes and one speech per topic per person.
 - Holding additional votes does not grant more speaking time.
 - b. Total debate on any main motion is limited to ten (10) minutes. When the time is expired, the main motion and all pending motions are called.
- 2. Voting:
 - Any voice vote that shows opposition will automatically be taken as a ballot vote.
- 3. Committee to Review and Approve the Minutes:
 - a. A committee to Review and Approve the Minutes will be established.
 - b. The committee will consist of the District Administration Manager and one representative from each division, all who must have been present for the entire meeting.
 - c. The committee must complete its work within 15 days of the closure of the meeting.
- 4. Guests:
 - a. Guests are allowed in the meeting but are not permitted to address the assembly unless approved by the assembly.
 - b. If the assembly desires, a majority vote may clear the hall of non-members for any reason.

The motion was seconded.

The motion was adopted by unanimous consent.

Minutes Committee Chair Mike Edwards delivered the report of the Minutes Committee.

- The Minutes Committee moved to approve the Minutes of the May 11, 2022, District Council meeting as presented.
- As this is the motion of a Committee, no second is required.
- The motion was adopted by unanimous consent.
- District Leadership Committee Chair Joanne Monroe delivered the report of the Leadership Committee.
 - The District Executive Committee approved the appointed officers for the District. The Leadership Committee moves to ratify the following appointments:

Member
Darren Yarbrough, DTM
Catherine Capps, SR5, IP5
Terry Burns, DTM
KR Miller, LD5, TC5
Stephanie Mannell, IP3
Joseph Spexarth, DL1
Brandon Dills, PM1
Jesse Waller. VC1. EH2
Hung Nguyen, IP3, PI3
Ronald Blanton, LD5, EH4
Yolanda Nicholson, DL3
David Wells, DTM
David Whitner, DTM
Paul Sadowski, LD3
Norma Clinton, DL4
Tammy Fink, PM5

- As this is a motion from a Committee, no second is required.
- The motion was adopted by unanimous consent.
- District Finance Manager Darren Yarbrough presented the 2022-2023 District Budget. See Attachment "C".
 - o The District Finance Committee moved to approve the 2022-2023 budget as presented.
 - o As this is a motion from a Committee, no second is required.
 - The motion was adopted by unanimous consent.
- District Audit Committee Chair Denver Doty delivered the Audit Committee Report.
 - The Audit Committee found all records to be in proper order. No recommendations were made for future practices. See Attachment "D".
 - The Audit Committee report was received as presented.
- District Officer Reports were delivered as follows:

Office	Member	Report
Club Growth Director	Shed Mayberry	Club Growth Director Report
Program Quality Director	Shed Mayberry	Program Quality Director Report
Public Relations Manager	Shed Mayberry	Public Relations Report
Finance Manager	Darren Yarbrough	Finance Manager Report
Division T Director	Shed Mayberry	Division T Report
Division A Director	Lori Pong	Division A Report
Division L Director	Susan Ikazake	Division L Report
Division K Director	April Hendrickson	Division K Report
Division R Director	Shelly Bolling-Strickland	Division R Report
Division S Director	Soheila Boushehri	Division S Report

- District Director Shed Mayberry delivered the following announcements:
 - o October 22nd will be the annual Leadership Symposium and Hall of Fame.
 - o All Area, Division, and District Contests will be Hybrid this year.
 - The Spring Conference will be Hybrid with the in-person Conference at the Double Tree Hotel in Overland Park KS on May 19th and 20th, 2023.
 - District Leadership will keep abreast of any health and safety situations that will cause a change Contests and Conference to Online. Decisions will be made by January 31, 2023.

Adjourn:

The Fall 2022 District 22 Council meeting adjourned at 9:00 pm by District Director Shed Mayberry.

Terry Dee BurnsAdministration Manager